与卡乐康联系

回到搜索页

四个简单步骤来确保获得完美的薄膜包衣

      在药物从发现到推向市场所涉及到的每个步骤中,薄膜包衣粉的配制看起来似乎只是一个简简单单的步骤;仅仅是把粉末和水混合搅拌一下而已。 然而,这是一个重要的步骤,也是一个常被问及的基本步骤之一。

      没错,当您配制的包衣液不太好时,可能只需花更长的时间让其溶解,就能解决问题。但是,在某些情况下,不恰当的包衣液配制工艺可能会影响生产力和后续清洁工作,从而造成十分棘手的生产难题 ——这就是为什么最好一次做到位的原因。

     若说起如何配好包衣液,可谓是熟能生巧,您可以采取以下四个简单步骤来确保获得完美的薄膜包衣。

1. 选择合适的设备

      很有可能,所有合适的设备都已经就绪。按照我们的经验来看,设备越简单越好,而且最好避免配制方法“过度设计”。因此,不需要带夹套的容器、多重桨叶的搅拌桨或高剪切搅拌器——因为这些会使过程变得复杂,而且事实上您也的确不需要它们。

      首先,需要一个足够大的容器,可以装下所有的水和粉末,而且还留有空间,使得搅拌出现大漩涡时液体也不会泼出来。 在此,我们可以利用一条很好的经验法则,就是容器的直径与最终混悬液的高度大致相同。. Coating calculator >

     其次,所有东西都放置于常温下——容器,搅拌桨,水和粉末。没有必要加热水或别的类似措施。

     使用可变速的低剪切搅拌器,选择的桨叶尺寸大致为容器直径的三分之一(1/3)大小。您只需要一重桨叶的搅拌桨。当然,如果您可以选择,我们推荐船用螺旋浆式的搅拌桨,就像您可以在船后面看到的那样。

8183 650
可行- 选择一个桨叶尺寸大致为搅拌容器直径1/3的搅拌桨

8193 650
不可行 - 使用尺寸过小的搅拌桨

      高剪切搅拌器开动时搅拌的力道比您成功配制包衣液所需的力道要大;这一点恰恰会产生泡沫,还会破坏聚合物链和色淀,从而改变薄膜包衣的颜色和膜强度。

      安装时尽可能地让搅拌桨靠近容器底部。如果搅拌桨是侧面安装的,应保证安装的搅拌桨与容器在同一侧。

8192 650
可行 - 安装时保持搅拌桨与容器在同一侧

8189 650

不可行 – 安装时搅拌桨的位置远离容器

Dispersion cn

2. 让漩涡转起来

4817 650
合适的漩涡

       首先容器中装满常温水,然后开始搅拌,让其产生强烈的漩涡。这时,您应该能够在漩涡底部看到搅拌桨的桨叶,同时还应该能听到哗啦哗啦的水声。轻触开关把搅拌桨略微调慢一点——让形成的漩涡刚好在桨叶上方,这样就没有哗啦哗啦的水声,这时就可以准备开始添加粉末。

4517 650
加入粉末

       把包衣粉倒入持续搅拌的水流中,尽量快速地往漩涡里倒,只要包衣粉能在漩涡里被搅开。理想的状态下,不应有粉末堆积在包衣液面上。

       在此阶段,常常会发生另外一个错误,就是包衣粉加入速度太慢。这种谨慎可能来自过去的经验,因为早期的包衣粉如果加入太快,配制出的包衣液中容易出现团块。如今的药用包衣粉早已不再有这种情况。所以,请您满怀信心;虽然很快地倒入粉末时,可能会产生一片小小的尘雾,但是绝大部分通风系统会很容易地处理掉这点尘雾。

        所以,包衣粉不要舀,不要撒,也不要过度复杂化这一步骤,只需简简单单地倒入即可。只要您看到包衣液面在搅动,就表示粉末正在水中有效地混合均匀。您可能会看到一些小团块,不过这些小团块在搅拌过程中会自然而然地被打散。而在生产规模下,大部分团块都比网球或高尔夫球小,在规定的搅拌时间内团块都会被打散。

8241 650
不断搅拌包衣液

       一旦所有的包衣粉末被倒入后,稍微减缓搅拌速度,让漩涡刚好在液面下。不断搅拌包衣液,可防止不溶物沉淀。根据不同的包衣配方,您可以在25到45分钟内配好包衣液,准备包衣。

3. 开始喷液,注意观察包衣液

       在包衣过程中,当您从搅拌的容器中抽取包衣液时,有一点很重要,就是注意观察包衣混悬液,确保搅拌的漩涡不会变得太大,若有液滴溅起来,空气就会开始进入包衣液中产生泡沫。

8244 650
开始出现泡沫时降低转速

       泡沫过多会使得包衣液更难喷,还会导致包衣锅壁变脏,出风口滤网堵塞。如果您看到泡沫开始形成,很简单,只需调低搅拌速度。一点点泡沫没有问题,完全正常,但是泡沫超过几英寸厚的话,可能会出现问题。随着包衣液从容器中被抽走,液位将会更接近搅拌桨的底部;这时,您需要减缓搅拌桨转速,甚至关掉搅拌桨,避免产生过多的泡沫。

       关于包衣速率的衡量,卡乐康建议将装着包衣液的容器放在称重传感器上,并监测容器的重量变化,而不是完全依靠流量计。因为流量计有时可能会产生错误的读数,特别是当出现泡沫时。而重量的变化代表着准确的包衣液使用量。

4. 请与卡乐康联系

      包衣混悬液的制备是一个简单的过程,可以通过实践不断改善,所谓熟能生巧。

      在卡乐康,我们的目标是随时帮助客户制备出完美的片剂。如果我们早点与您联系,就能第一手了解到您目前片芯处方、包衣、生产工艺面临的挑战,从而帮助您实现完美的薄膜包衣。

Connect with Colorcon

Back to index

Simple Steps for Smooth Coating Dispersion Preparation

Considering everything involved with advancing a drug from discovery to a marketed product, the preparation of the film coating may seem like a simple step; just mixing powder and water. Yet it is an important step, and one of the essential steps we are regularly asked about.

Yes, you may get by with imperfect dispersion preparation; most of the time it just takes longer than it needs. But, in some cases, improper dispersion preparation can affect productivity and cleaning, and create unwelcome manufacturing headaches — which is why it’s best to get it right first time.

When it comes to good dispersion preparation, practice makes perfect and here are simple steps you can take to ensure that your coating turns out perfectly.

1. Choose the right equipment

Chances are you already have all the right equipment on hand. In our experience, with equipment, simpler is better, and it’s best to avoid “over engineering” your approach. So set aside the jacketed vessels, multiple impeller shafts or high-shear mixers — they complicate the process and the truth is you just don’t need them.

Start with a vessel large enough to hold all the water and powder, and to provide space for a sizeable vortex while mixing. A good rule of thumb is to have the diameter of the vessel to be roughly the same height as the final suspension. Coating calculator >

Next, keep everything is at room temperature — vessel, impeller, water and powder. No need to heat up the water or anything like that.

Using a variable speed low-shear mixer, select one impeller that is roughly one-third (1/3) the diameter of your vessel. You only need one impeller. If you can choose, we recommend a marine-blade impeller, as you would see on the back of a boat.

8183 650
Do - Select an impeller 1/3 the diameter of the mixing vessel

8193 650
Don’t - Use an undersized impeller

A high-shear mixer delivers more power than you need for successful mixing; this just creates foam and can breakdown polymer chains and pigments, changing the color and strength of the film coating.

Position the impeller as close to the bottom as possible. If the impeller is side mounted, keep the impeller on the same side of the vessel as the mounting.

8192 650
Do - Keep impeller on the same side as the mounting

8189 650
Don’t - Position the impeller far away from the mounting

4WD Dispersion Prep quote AL 300x400 layout1

2. Get that vortex going

4817 650
Correct Vortex

Using room-temperature water, fill the vessel and begin stirring to create a strong vortex. You should be able to see the blades of the impeller at the base of the vortex, and you should be able to hear a bubbling, gurgling sound. Back off the impeller speed just a touch—enough to bring the vortex just above the blades. This stops the “gurgle” and indicates you’re ready to start adding the powder.

4517 650
Powder Addition

Add the coating powder by pouring in a steady stream, directly into the vortex as quickly as the vortex can handle it. Ideally, you won’t have stagnant powder on the surface of the dispersion.

Another common mistake occurs by adding powder too slowly at this stage. This precaution is likely to come from past experience, when earlier coating systems tended to cake or lump. That is no longer the case with today’s pharmaceutical coatings. So pour freely with confidence; while it can create a small dust cloud, most ventilation systems will readily handle this.

So, don’t scoop, don’t sprinkle, and don’t overcomplicate this step. Simply pour. As long as you see the surface moving freely, the powder is being effectively incorporated. You may see some small lumps, but these will naturally break up during the mixing process. At production scale, most lumps are smaller than the width of a tennis or golf ball and break down during the mixing time.

8241 650
Keep the dispersion mixing

Once all of the powder is added to the vessel, slightly slow down the mixer to reduce the vortex to just below the surface. Keep the dispersion moving, preventing insoluble materials from settling. You will be ready to coat in 25 to 45 minutes, depending on the coating formulation.

3. Start spraying and watch it work

As you remove liquid from the mixing vessel during the coating process, it’s important to keep watch on your coating suspension to ensure the vortex doesn’t become too strong as the level of drops and begin to entrain air into the suspension.

8244 650
Reduce speed if foam begins to appear

Excess foam will make the suspension harder to spray and can result in a dirty pan and clogged filters. Should you see foam starting to form, simply turn down your mixer. A little foam is okay, and completely normal, but more than a few inches can cause a problem. As liquid is removed from the vessel, the liquid level will move closer to the base of the impeller; at this point you will need to slow down, or even turn off, the impeller to avoid over production of foam.

When it comes to measuring the coating rate, Colorcon recommends putting your coating suspension vessel on a load cell and monitoring the weight of the vessel, as opposed to relying strictly on flow meters. Flow meters sometimes can produce erroneous readings, especially if foam is present. Weight will always provide a true reading of how much product is used.

Preparing the coating suspension is a simple process that improves with practice. And practice makes perfect.

At Colorcon, our goal is to help our customers make every tablet a perfect tablet, every time. Perfect film coating is best achieved when we connect with you early and understand first-hand the challenges your formulation, coating and manufacturing process may present.