与卡乐康联系

回到搜索页

流化床制备多颗粒制剂最佳实践—-第二部分

使用计算机设计和过程分析技术(PAT)了解流化床制备过程控制和产品质量

多颗粒制剂十分复杂,利用薄膜包衣延缓药物释放可能会面临诸多挑战。其中,底物特性、包衣配方、设备工艺条件均会对最终药物释放产生影响。基于卡乐康的丰富经验,我们制定了最佳实践指南,能够加速产品开发,减少多颗粒制剂产品商业化生产周期中遇到的问题。

流化床制备多颗粒制剂最佳实践的第二部分主要介绍工艺过程监控对多颗粒制剂缓释包衣性能的重要性。

通过实时过程监控来跟踪过程控制趋势并预测药物释放性能

多颗粒(MP)制剂通过配方和工艺可以调节药物在胃肠道内的释放特性或在特定的靶向释放位点释放药物。在开发和制造这些多颗粒制剂时,通常使用底喷流化床(Wurster系统)来进行连续包衣。

在多颗粒制剂开发过程中,获得目标释放曲线的一个关键因素是包衣用量。通常包衣用量是通过得到所需目标释放时重量增加的百分比来确定的。虽然这种方法可行,但是很费时间,同时忽略了原材料的可变性,并且缺乏必要的洞察力来了解包衣过程和实现生产的可重复性。在本系列的第一部分中,我们介绍了表面积膜厚比(SA/FT)对克服这些挑战并设计出一种稳定的多颗粒制剂的重要性。

通过对流化床工艺过程的在线监控,能够大大提高对开发及生产过程的了解,降低风险,增强控制以及生产高质量产品的能力。

 

14 CwC Topic 14 Graph CN

创新发展和过程分析技术对流化床包衣的重要性

过程分析技术(PAT),广泛地讲是集化学、物理和数学分析于一体的技术。将过程分析技术整合于生产过程中,可以及时地监控和控制关键工艺过程和产品质量属性,从而有助于确保最终产品的性能。

动态图像分析是一种过程分析技术(Eyecon2™),这种技术已成功融入流化床包衣工艺中,用于包衣过程的在线监测。将这种过程中的测量与卡乐康多颗粒配方设计工具™的计算机模型相结合,可以实时测量多颗粒的粒度和包衣厚度,并与预测模型进行比较(参考  卡乐康AAPS海报, 2017使用这种方式可以更早地监测到工艺过程中出现的问题(如效率低下,颗粒结块),提高对工艺过程的跟踪,确定包衣终点。

CwC Topic 14 EyeCon

                                                                                图片由于由Horiba提供
14 quote piyush patel 14 wide cn

多颗粒制剂过程的考量

  1. 计算机设计工具(多颗粒配方设计工具™)提供了与多颗粒配方设计和性能相关的重要变量,包括粒度、表面积膜厚比(SA / FT)、最终产品体积和最佳胶囊尺寸选择。(参考:  卡乐康 CRS 海报, 2016).

  2. 过程分析技术为了解多个工艺参数、配方设计和功能性之间的关系打下了基础。

  3. 流化床包衣过程的实时、近线和在线过程跟踪能够增强从产品开发到商业化生产以及整个产品生产周期中对产品质量的了解和控制。

配方和工艺知识加快开发和提高质量

为帮助客户开发多颗粒制剂,卡乐康通过 多颗粒配方设计工具™, 系统提供咨询服务。多颗粒配方设计工具™是一种理论建模工具,可帮助客户确定起始底物的最优粒度、表面积膜厚比、最终产品体积以及最佳胶囊尺寸选择。

我们十分乐意在您为下一个产品的包衣配方设计以及起始底物选择时提供帮助。对话卡乐康,开启一个全新的多颗粒制剂项目。

Connect with Colorcon

Back to index

Fluid Bed Best Practices for Multiparticulate Formulations – Part 2

Process Control and Product Quality using Computational Design and Process Analytical Technology (PAT)

Multiparticulate dosage forms are complex and the application of coatings to extend drug release can present challenges.  Substrate properties, coating formulation, equipment and process conditions are all considerations that affect final drug release.  Based on Colorcon’s experience we have developed best practice guidelines that ensure speedy development and a trouble-free lifecycle for your commercial multiparticulate dosage product.

This second installment covers the importance of process monitoring when applying a coating to multiparticulates for extended release performance.

Real-Time Process Monitoring to Track Process Control and Predict Performance

Multiparticulate (MP) dosage forms provide formulation and process opportunities to modulate drug release characteristics and target specific release sites within the GI tract.    Fluid bed bottom-spray (Wurster) coating is routinely used to apply successive coating layers in the development and manufacture of these multiparticulate formulations.

During development, a key consideration is the amount of coating applied to achieve the target release profile.  Typically, the quantity of coating is determined by the application of increasing % weight gain until the desired release is obtained.  While this approach has been successful, it’s time-consuming, ignores raw material variability and lacks the insight necessary to understand a coating process and achieve repeatability.  In Part 1 of this series, we introduced the importance of the surface area to film thickness ratio (SA/FT) to overcoming these challenges to design a robust multiparticulate formulation.

Process tracking of a fluid bed process, in-line or at-line, from development to manufacturing promotes a greater level of understanding, reduces risk, enhances control and the ability to build quality into a product.

CwC Topic 14 Graph

The Importance of Innovative Development and PAT in Fluid Bed Coating

Process analytical technology (PAT) is broadly considered to include any chemical, physical, and mathematical analysis conducted in an integrated manner.  Incorporating this type of analysis within a manufacturing process allows timely monitoring and control of the critical processes and quality attributes that can help ensure finished product performance.

Dynamic image analysis is one PAT technique (Eyecon2™) that has been successfully integrated into the fluid bed coating process for at-line or in-line measurements.   Combining this in-process measurement with a computational model, Colorcon’s My Dosage Design™, allows particle size and coating thickness to be measured in real-time and compared to a predictive model (reference: Colorcon AAPS Poster, 2017).  This allows for early detection of processing issues (poor efficiency, agglomeration) with improved process control tracking and coating endpoint determination.

CwC Topic 14 EyeCon

                                                                                Image Courtesy of Horiba
quote piyush patel 14 wide en

Considerations for Multiparticulate Processing

  1. Computational design tools (My Dosage Design™) provide insight to important variables relating to a multiparticulate dosage formulation design and performance including particle size, surface area to film thickness (SA/FT) ratio, the volume of the final dose and optimal capsule size selection (reference: Colorcon CRS Poster, 2016).

  2. PAT provides the basis for understanding relationships among multiple process parameters, formulation design and functional performance.

  3. Real-time, at-line and in-line, process tracking of a fluid bed coating process provides enhanced understanding and control of product quality from development through commercialization and the lifecycle of a product.

Formulation and Process Knowledge to Speed Development and Build Quality

To assist with the development of multiparticulate formulations, Colorcon offers consulting through My Dosage Design™, a modeling tool that helps determine the optimal particle size, surface area to film thickness ratio, the volume of the final dosage and optimal capsule size selection.

Let us help to select your coating formulation and starting substrate for your next formulation. Connect with Colorcon to embark on a new multiparticulate project.